ACRE Assessment

Assessment of Catechesis/Religious Education (ACRE)

The ACRE test is administered in the Spring to all students in grades 5, 8,11  in the Diocese of Sioux City.  The test is published by the NCEA (National Catholic Educational Association), and it is an assessment designed to strengthen catechetical/education programs.  Based on the Catechism of the Catholic Church and the most recent catechetical documents, the purpose of the ACRE is to evaluate the effectiveness of a religious instruction.

Students are tested in the following 8 domains:

  • God

  • Church

  • Liturgy and Sacraments

  • Revelation, Scripture, Faith

  • Life in Christ

  • Church History

  • Prayer/Religious Practice

  • Faith Literacy

The Four Pillars are also tested:

  • Creed

  • Liturgy and Sacraments

  • Morality

  • Prayer

Our students scored above the national average on all domains in faith knowledge! We are very proud of our students’ achievements!

boys praying